Swing Guitar: Playing Out of Shapes (Part 4)

In Part 3 of Swing Guitar: Playing Out of Shapes, I left you with a transcription and video of Charlie’s solo on “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love”. This article will focus on several things I learned from it! (Link to the transcription below)

i-cant-give-you-anything-but-love-charlie-christian-solo

1. Crafting a solo 

This solo showed me how to start with simple ideas and as the chorus progresses, build and expand on those ideas. This is best seen in the second half of the solo as Charlie builds his lines to go from eigth notes, to triplets, to sixteenth notes. His choice of subdividing the rhythm with each phrase gives his solo a forward motion that concludes very climatically! Try applying this in your own solos!

2. Relative Minor 

Over the Db6 chords, Charlie plays out of the Bbm pentatonic box. This is an alternative way to address the Db6 chord without jumping to a new chord shape.

3. 5-1 Resolution (Emphasis on b9)

In the first phrase over the 5 chord, Charlie plays from the “A chord shape” to the “E chord shape” of the 1 chord. In doing so, he plays a line that features an Fb (the b9 of the Eb7 chord). This b9 resolves to the 3 (C) of the 1 chord. I think it’s best to visualize the b9 as part of a half diminished arpeggio off the 5 of the 5 chord. In this case, it would be the Bb on the third string (Bb-Db-Fb-G). Simply, play a half diminished arrpegio of the 5 of a dominant 7 chord and you get a b9! Below are some examples.

five-to-one-emphasis-on-the-flat-9

4. How would Charlie play over a 2 minor into the 5 chord?

In this solo, Charlie doesn’t really address the minor 2 chord. I got to thinking, how would he do this? Below are some lines I came up with that he might have played. They feature the minor 6 sound that Charlie was so fond of!

2-5-1-charlie-christian

 

 

This is my last article for this year! I hope you have enjoyed them so far. Here are some topics I will be covering in the new year:

1. Don Helms/Norman Hamlet styled lap/pedal steel intros/licks

2. A look at the techniques Roy Buchanan uses throughout his first album

3. Chet Atkins Licks

-steel guitar chords

-double stops

-triple stops

-open string lines

-banjo rolls

4. Charlie Christian

-approach to minor tunes

5. Jimmie Rivers Lines

6. Roy Lanham’s use of triads in chord melodies and solos

You can follow me on FacebookYoutube, Instagram, and my website for more things swing, country jazz, and Bakersfield sound!

I still have space available if you are interested in skype lessons. Just message me through my contact page. Have a merry Christmas and a happy New Year!!!

2 thoughts on “Swing Guitar: Playing Out of Shapes (Part 4)”

Leave a comment